PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
A couple of questions -- general detailing ?'s

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15 May 2005, 04:16 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to Cruising Mike
Default A couple of questions -- general detailing ?'s

I'm very new to car detailing (I needed a new hobby anyway), and so I know virtually nothing about keeping a car in top condition.

I've picked up a LOT of information from this website and others (including some sites recommended by the friendly and helpful people here). Two weeks ago (before I got my PT) I thought washing with dish detergent and slapping on a wax was all that was necessary. But now I know that there's a lot more to be done.

But with a lot more knowledge comes a lot more questions.

And since I'm new and very inexperienced, I thought it best to ask the questions straight-out so I don't misinterpret something important.

Some things to note:
- My car is black; from what I understand, black is the hardest to keep looking good
- I need stuff that's clearcoat-safe
- I'm interested in what's best for the car, not what's most convenient; convenience is good, but not at the expense of performance
- Money is somewhat of an issue, but a few dollars is irrelevant; I'm don't want to pay hundreds of dollars for something, but if a better product is a few bucks more, I'll buy the better product.

Questions . . .

1. Is longevity the only difference between wax and sealant, or does sealant offer other advantages besides lasting longer?

2. Are microfiber towels good? I've heard from some that microfiber is the best, and from others that it's bad and will scratch my car.

3. If I use a clay bar, do I need a paint cleaner too? From what I can tell, paint cleaner is abrasive and a clay bar does the same job more safely. Do I need both, or is a claybar alone good enough?