PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Hitch Bike Rack any input?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 Mar 2006, 10:25 am
Cool Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to satellite66
Default Hitch Bike Rack any input?

Wife wants a bike rack to go into our hitch, anyone got any info?
I think she wants a 4 bike one but if you know of a good 2 bike. Thanks
Old 03 Mar 2006, 01:20 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

I have NO experience with any of them...
http://www.etrailer.com/Merchant2/me...filiate=google
[:I]

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 03 Mar 2006, 03:55 pm
Young Cruiser

I like the Yakima Kingpin series. It comes in a 2 bike and a 4 bike version. It is a very stable rack and both the arms and ther ack itself can fold down so that you can access the rear of the vehicle easier. Go to a local bike shop and you should be able to pick one up for under $200. I help out at a local shop here in Atlanta and we offer all of the big names in racks (Yakima,Thule,Saris,etc) and the Yakima Kingpin is a great rack for the money.
But the fact that some geniuses were laughed at does not imply that all who are laughed at are geniuses. They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown.
Carl Sagan (1934 - 1996)
Old 03 Mar 2006, 05:19 pm
Young Cruiser

[8)]I have a two bike Thule one that I have used on both my ragtop and my 2001.

The only thing is the bikes stick out beyond both sides of the car because the PT is fairly narrow, so you get some wind resistance issues, no big deal though.