Advertisements
2005 trunk release handle

Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By jimhoysa

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20 Jul 2017, 12:17 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default 2005 trunk release handle

Hello, i own a 2005 pt cruiser with the trunk that requires a key to open. I went to the junkyard today and found a trunk handle that you can pull up to unlock and was trying to convert it to the new style. I ran into an issue where the latch assembly isnt releasing like its supposed to. I was wondering if anyone has done this conversion and what they did to fix the issue that im running into. Sorry if the post doesnt make sense, im new to pt cruisers and dont know all the terminology that is used. Thanks
Old 20 Jul 2017, 12:48 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: 2005 trunk release handle

Welcome to the forum

Your PT should have an electric touch pad switch under the handle that has probably failed. How long have you owned your PT? And the electric hatch lock release has never worked, therefore you have to open it with the key?

You can follow the instructions in this thread to do a mod to the rear handle assembly, or replace the entire assembly which is much harder to do.

Liftgate touchpad replacement

When you get a chance please go to Welcome New PT Cruiser Members - PT Cruiser Forum and create an intro thread telling us a little about yourself and your PT.

'06 Touring Edition NA Automatic
150k Miles / Electric Blue Pearl
USMC '82 - '93
Old 20 Jul 2017, 03:52 am
Fresh Cruiser

Ill have to take a few photos tomorrow so people have a better idea of what im talking about. My pt did not come with a sensor switch on the bottom. Its almost a base model but has power windows and the 12v constant. It doesnt have power mirrors or power locks though, so im not entirely sure what model of cruiser it is.
Old 22 Jul 2017, 09:13 pm
Young Cruiser