PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Key chips

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27 Dec 2006, 03:04 pm
gonzomania's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Delran, NJ, USA.
Posts: 1,185
Send a message via AIM to gonzomania
Default Key chips

I did a search but came up with nothing. I have a base 2003 cruiser with keyless entry does this have a chip in the key head?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28 Dec 2006, 04:50 pm
quicksilverdon's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Felton, Delaware
Posts: 20,501
Default

I believe they all do - you need to "program" a new key, but you need 2 original keys to program a new third key, or else you need dealer...
http://ptenthusiasts.org/forum/showt...ght=spare+keys
__________________
"Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life,
nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that 'my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."
Isaac Asimov"

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28 Dec 2006, 05:04 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: rhode island, USA.
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to rte662006
Default

You can buy the keys on ebay cheap around $15 or so they are about $50 at the dealer.If you already have 2 keys you can program the new key your self
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28 Dec 2006, 06:05 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,787
Default

same as above check ebay !!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28 Dec 2006, 07:08 pm
gonzomania's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Delran, NJ, USA.
Posts: 1,185
Send a message via AIM to gonzomania
Default

Thanks fellas I am contimplating having a remote start system installed with keyless entry.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30 Dec 2006, 01:08 am
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina, USA.
Posts: 884
Default

But doesn't the key need to be cut to fit the ignition? I've seen them on e-bay and wondered if they will fit my car.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jan 2007, 10:21 am
quicksilverdon's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Felton, Delaware
Posts: 20,501
Default

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by redhotpt

But doesn't the key need to be cut to fit the ignition? I've seen them on e-bay and wondered if they will fit my car.
Yes, has to be cut - but that can be done anywhere. The post is about the embedded chip in the key.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jan 2007, 04:03 pm
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: new york, ny.
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by quicksilverdon

Quote:
quote:Originally posted by redhotpt

But doesn't the key need to be cut to fit the ignition? I've seen them on e-bay and wondered if they will fit my car.
Yes, has to be cut - but that can be done anywhere. The post is about the embedded chip in the key.
As for the key cutting: with blanks costing 15$ or more... do yourself a favor and go to a real locksmith for the cutting, not to a hardware or big-box store.
__________________
I just tell anyone who asks that "PT" stands for "Plymouth's Tombstone"
---
Defend Our Hobby!
Join the SEMA Action Network
http://www.semasan.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jan 2007, 04:26 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: .
Posts: 1,872
Default



Agree. Its not like a house key that they can screw up and take another one off the rack. Spend the extra couple of bucks and let the pros do it.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02 Jan 2007, 06:19 pm
gonzomania's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Delran, NJ, USA.
Posts: 1,185
Send a message via AIM to gonzomania
Default

The installer of the remote starting unit says to have one fob for keyless entry and remote start he has to program and need to know if the car had a chip. Thanks for all the help
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 Big paint chips & black mirror plastic brown? ItsMe The Detail Shop 13 27 Jun 2004 09:16 pm
Rock chips Blade General PT Cruiser Discussions 16 28 Mar 2004 10:47 pm
Paint Chips turbomangt General PT Cruiser Discussions 1 08 Aug 2003 02:44 pm
'04 color chips Richard in Idaho PT Cruiser News and Rumors 3 07 Jul 2003 05:29 pm
Rock Chips jramosGT General PT Cruiser Discussions 18 07 Apr 2003 08:57 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors