Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Some brake lights work

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Jan 2008, 11:24 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Some brake lights work

Hello all who read this i'm a UTI Student in Arizona and have recently come across a issue with a 2006 PT Cruiser. An admin person in our school presented us with his 06 PT Cruiser with only some brake light bulbs working. Starting with the basics I ruled out fuse, brake switch to discover 3 bulbs burnt out. The bulbs were both lower big bulbs and middle 3rd light bulb. So i figured ok problem solved and put in new bulbs. Well new bulbs did not fix the problem. According to alldata there is a brake module for this vechicle but no clear info on where it is located anyone out there have any ideas or know where it is? Also has anyone heard of this prob before? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!

UTI Student
Will
Old 31 Jan 2008, 11:40 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Some brake lights work

Will,

I was hoping by now one of our members that are very knowledgeable about the PT would have tried to answer your questions. They could still answer up later. I'm just around all of the time and see most of the questions first.

I've tried doing searches and looked at my reference books for your brake light module and can't find a thing. That's not to say there isn't one, but I can only find references to the ABS brake module and the brake switch (the one by your brake pedal).

I've seen problems with bulbs shattering and in that particular case with 3 different owners having the same problem, there wasn't a definite answer as to why the bulbs were actually blowing up.