PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Looking to buy a 2001 PT Cruiser; asking for advise

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15 Apr 2008, 04:22 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Looking to buy a 2001 PT Cruiser; asking for advise

I'm thinking of selling my 1995 Saturn SL1 (108,000 miles) for a 2001 PT Cruiser Touring Edition (104,000 miles / 5 speed).

I haven't owned a Chrylser Product since 1990; Plymouth Horizon.

I tried to use the search function in FAQ, but didn't find what I was looking for.

I know that if I purchase the PT Cruiser, it will need some maintenance; timing belt, oil pump, plugs and wire, etc..

My questions is: What problem areas do I look for prior to purchasing? I'm not familiar with the problem areas of the PT Cruiser. I'm a competent mechanic and would be doing most of the work myself.

I'm also concerned about gas mileage due to the price of fuel. I know the PT Cruiser won't get the same mileage as the Saturn, but I don't want to take a 10 MPG hit on highway fuel mileage. I would be happy if the PT Cruiser would break 30 MPG highway, but not 27 MPG or less.

The seller is asking $3800. I could sell my Saturn for $1500 and step up into a newer car with more features.

Any help would be appreciated!

I hope everything works out and I become a member of your club!

Last edited by kkspeed; 15 Apr 2008 at 04:34 am.
Old 15 Apr 2008, 05:39 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Re: Looking to buy a 2001 PT Cruiser; asking for advise

Welcome aboard kkspeed,