Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Newbie here, Looking for advice on buying a PT Cruiser

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11 Apr 2009, 01:04 am
Young Cruiser

Thumbs up Newbie here, Looking for advice on buying a PT Cruiser

Hi everyone, my name is Bill and I've joined up to this forum in hopes that I can be steered in the right direction in terms of getting assistance in buying the perfect PT Cruiser for myself from hearing feedback and opinions from members here on your board!

All my life I've dealt with Shelby Dodge stuff of the 80s and currently have a n/A 1994 Dodge Shadow as my daily driver. The last month or so I began searching fora new daily drver by exploring the possibility of purchasing a new Caliber SRT-4 but found the prices to be a bit out of range for now. That brought me to the PT Cruisers, a car I've always had a liking for, but one I don't know too much about.

My preferences for one are that it must be black, must be a 5 spd., and must have a sunroof. I would absolutely love to find a 5 spd. PT Turbo in this color scheme but from what I've found on the internet those turbo models are hard to come by in a 5 spd.? Also, PT Turbos I guess came with nothing else but black leather interior? There was no gray offered?

My uncle attends area auctions and I have put him on the lookout for anything of this combination to go through and be under the $7000 range so I am hoping that in the next month or so he will find something for me. Currently, I located an 01 Limited version with the gray leather/suede interior. 45000 miles, for $6995. Blue booked, it says the same car is worth $7715 in excellent condition which this one is. Only drawback with this one is that it has the gray bumpers which have big tape marks on them. Is this how the PT's came that do not have color matched bumpers, or does that show a sign this car was repainted/repaired?