PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
pre buy mechanical checkup

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20 Apr 2009, 01:53 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default pre buy mechanical checkup

Hi all.

I am new to this car so need suggestions.

I am purchasing a 2002 PT Cruiser with 36000 Km on it. It seems to be in pretty much mint condition, but I want to have it checked out before I commit. Is there anything I should ask the mechanic to be especially watching for?

And can I use my almost new snow tires (P215/70R15) on it next winter?The rims are universal I think so perhaps I can use them as well (off a Windstar)

Any help would be appreciated. This vehicle is a complete unknown to me, but friends have recommended it and they adore theirs.

Thanks,
Susan
Old 21 Apr 2009, 05:56 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: pre buy mechanical checkup

Have him check the suspension, look at all the joints, wheel bearings, etc.
Is it an automatic? If so, you should plan on having the fluid flushed (ahould be every 50,000 miles, but here we're talking years).
The rest he should know by listening to the engine and a test drive.

There are no universal rims - the tires may fit (the PT can come with 15, 16 or 17" rims and tires) but the rims won't.

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 23 Apr 2009, 08:05 am
Young Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by zanadu View Post
Hi all.

And can I use my almost new snow tires (P215/70R15) on it next winter?The rims are universal I think so perhaps I can use them as well (off a Windstar)

Thanks,
Susan
You need a wheel with 5x100 bolt pattern. The Winstar uses a 5 x 108 pattern, so will not fit.