PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
2002 PT Cruiser, 105k, thinking about buying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28 Apr 2009, 02:35 am
Fresh Cruiser

Talking 2002 PT Cruiser, 105k, thinking about buying...

Hey there,

I'm looking to buy a 2002 PT Cruiser, 105k... thing is, I don't know much about these cars. I'm not looking to spend too much in maintenance, etc., so I need a car that isn't gonna break down on me too much in the long run (I'm a college student).

Of course, I know to get the car inspected before I buy it, and to keep it maintained while I own it, but does anyone have any good advice regarding these cars? Should I purchase it (dealer wants $3900)? Is the mileage too high?
Should I purchase an extended warranty?

Thanks
Old 28 Apr 2009, 06:40 am
Cool Cruiser

Default Re: 2002 PT Cruiser, 105k, thinking about buying...

I have a Mazda Miata with 109k+ on it and it still runs strong. Car engines today will last much longer than back in the 60's. The big key though is the maintenance; as long as it has been taken care of - the big thing will be the timing belt and plugs/wires, transmission flush, etc... If you can have the car checked out by a mechanic you trust, do it. Do a little search on line to find out the value of the car, then take 15% off and you'll have a reasonable resale price. $3900 sounds a tad high for the mileage; is it a Limited? Condition? I would not think an 'Extended Warranty' would be offered on a car with that mileage - be very careful of the wording.
Old 28 Apr 2009, 07:19 am
Obsessed Cruiser

thinkinboutit, Welcome to the Forum.

Be very careful as the timing belt should have been changed by/at 100,000 miles, the parts and labor will run from $1000 up depending on where you go.