Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
SECONDARY FUEL FILTER

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27 May 2009, 09:14 am
Fresh Cruiser

Cool SECONDARY FUEL FILTER

Hi! this is my first time ever posting on a forum. I was wondering if anybody has installed
a secondary fuel filter on a 2002 PT cruiser and if they have what kind of filter have you used, any help would be appreciated.
Old 27 May 2009, 09:27 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Re: SECONDARY FUEL FILTER

Why would you want to do that. The one in tank is super good and there is no need for a second one.
Old 27 May 2009, 08:25 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Agree. I think you'd be introducing a potential leak.

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 29 May 2009, 07:19 am
Fresh Cruiser

I am Parinoid and do not know that much about cars. I just thinking if I put a secondary fuel filter in just in case the filter in the tank goes bad and craps out.
Old 29 May 2009, 07:36 am
Obsessed Cruiser

IMHO, you are worrying about something that MAY be insignificant in the scheme of things. There are a number of things that you COULD worry about if you were so inclined.

There is a lot of labor involved to do that and if the designers thought it would be a problem they would have never put it in the tank. As long as you use fuel from a gas station you shouldn't have a problem. Water possibly yes, but the filter wouldn't help much anyway with a water problem.

Keep on lovin' the PT.