Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
2001 PT Cruiser questions from a newbie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 Mar 2010, 02:33 am
Fresh Cruiser

Question 2001 PT Cruiser questions from a newbie

I'm new here, and was looking at cars for sale when I came across a 2001 PT Cruiser for just under $3,000. My questions though are, how do they handle? What are the down falls? What are the common issues they have? Etc. I'm a new driver and definitely plan to take it easy on it, but was wonder what it's like before I buy it. I'm new with standards as well, how are the PT Cruisers in standard? My only experience is a '91 Jeep 4x4 with manual (very manual) steering. My problem with standard is being so gentle with the pettle when I go to leave my parking spot, stop sign, red light, etc. Is this any easier to handle?

Also, is there anything I should ask the seller before driving the 3 hours to look/buy it?

Thank you!
Old 03 Mar 2010, 06:56 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: 2001 PT Cruiser questions from a newbie

Welcome to the forums.
So, it's a standard shift? That's good, because it gets better mileage, has better performance, and is more reliable.
Ask how many miles - and if the timing belt (and water pump and belt tensioner) has been replaced - if not, be prepared to have it done and pay about $1,000. It needs to be done at around 100,000 miles.
Ask if they have receipts of work done on the car.
Ask when plugs/wires were last changed and how often oil was changed - and listen carefully to the answers - if there's hesitation, car was not looked after well.

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.