Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
General care of the PT Cruiser

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Jun 2010, 04:06 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default General care of the PT Cruiser

Hello, I have a '07 PT Cruiser (base model), and have been using it for almost two years now (bought it used as a one year old previous rental). I need to say I have very little experience with automobiles (this is my first vehicle).

So far it has been very reliable. However what kind of maintenance should I do to keep it that way?

I try to regularly visit my dealer every 3K for oil changes, and rotation when scheduled. They also do a small visual check, replace the coolant, and washer fluids.

Had these issues fixed so far:
  • Changed engine air filter (bought off from amazon, and replaced myself according to instructions I found on this forum)
  • Replaced one of the signal lights
  • Had horn mechanism replaced under warranty. It still sticks somehow
  • Replaced fuel cap (my friend left it open!)

1 - Currently the AC is not as strong as before (it's Arizona, so most of the year it's running at full speed). Is is possible to replace the fluid myself? Or shall I have it done professionally?

2 - Also at the initial engine start, the air that comes in does not smell as good. I found this link on this forum:
Installing a Cabin Air Filter on an '03 PT Cruiser turbo
But it's for a '03, and my vehicle is slightly different. Is there a '07 version for the instructions?

3 - When idle, its rpm fluctuates, sometimes causing a small "shake". Is this normal?

4 - Finally the engine compartment is full of dust. How can I safely clean it? (I prefer not to touch anything I don't know).
Old 30 Jun 2010, 04:26 pm
Fanatic Cruiser

Default Re: General care of the PT Cruiser

Welcome. I work for a Chrysler dealer, so please allow me to offer some insider tips for proper care and maintenance: