PT Cruiser Forum  

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

what is wrong with my manual transmission?

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17 Jul 2010, 09:04 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default what is wrong with my manual transmission?

Hi All,

My 2003 PT Cruiser GT has a 5 speed. Just purchased car two months ago with 98k. I have driven manual for nearly 25 years. When I shift from 1st to second and second to third, very minor "clunk". First gear, third to fourth and shifting from fourth to fifth are smooth and seamless. The only way I can avoid the slightly rough up shift is to shift at 2200 RPM's from first to seond and second to third.

Clutch was replaced by prior owner 25k miles ago. Clutch is fine. I do not know when MTF was last changed.

Has anybody else experienced this minor problem. I want to get problem fixed mainly for passenger comfort. I am not an transmission expert but I seem to recall having some bushings replaced on my prior car years ago.

Thanks for any advice on problem shooting what may be causing this slightly rough upshift.

Brian
Old 17 Jul 2010, 10:02 am
Cool Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to Taggert_LOA
Default Re: what is wrong with my manual transmission?

yup. it's the bushings. have the same problem with my gt. i plan on ordering replacement poly bushings. here is a link to the site where you can buy them. they also have an installion video there as well.

PT Cruiser Shifter Bushing Kit Chrysler PT Cruiser Shifter Bushings [SRK-106] - $15.95
Old 17 Jul 2010, 10:11 am
Fresh Cruiser

Thanks see part is $15.95 How much do you think Aamco or other transmission shop will charge for labor?
Old 01 Aug 2010, 02:37 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Hello.. I'm new to the forum and hope someone can help me out.