PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Need advice before I buy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 Aug 2010, 05:42 am
Young Cruiser

Default Need advice before I buy

Hello,
I'm a total newbie. Drove my first PT yesterday. It was an '07 at $6900.Had 93,977, road well and felt good, but it was black and too high mileage for $7K.

Last night I found two PTs at Enterprise. The first was a stripped down model had no air, but was a 5 speed which which I liked. 42K miles for $6,999, was a trade in.
The second car I haven't seen in the sheet metal yet, only online. It's a PT Cruiser Sport 4D FWD. 36,344 miles with a 12k/1 year Powertrain Warrantee for $10,520. It's from a national Rental company and they are bringing to the location I was at from another store in state. The dealer has a 7 day, 1000 mile return for any reason policy.
I'll see the car tonight or tomorrow morning. I don't see ABS or Traction conrol on the list. Besides obvious things, like leaks, using oil etc. What do I need to look for? Lastly, I drive 90 miles a day and my gut says the gas is gonna kill me, but my heart says I'm in love with these cars.

Thanks in advance for your coments and advice.

Matt

Last edited by onemat; 03 Aug 2010 at 05:52 am.
Old 03 Aug 2010, 05:58 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Need advice before I buy

Quote:
Originally Posted by onemat View Post
The second car I haven't seen in the sheet metal yet, only online. It's a PT Cruiser Sport 4D FWD. 36,344 miles with a 12k/1 year Powertrain Warrantee for $10,520. It's from a national Rental company and they are bringing to the location I was at from another store in state. The dealer has a 7 day, 1000 mile return for any reason policy.
Welcome to the forums, Matt.

What year? There were no PT "sport" models - base, Touring, Limited, "Classic" (another name for base) and GT were the PT models.
$10,520 is way too high.

5-speed is the way to go for gas mileage, and decent performance from a non-turbo PT.