PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
2005 pt timing belt

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07 Aug 2010, 11:41 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default 2005 pt timing belt

hey all :
well been a guest at this site for a year or so have found wealth of knowledge so thanks.. but to the point i have a 2005 pt and have diagnose it down to timing belt or tension pully .. peak through the hole in timing cover to see that with new starter (another story) that when cranked the cam gears do not turn.
i am now with car on stands in my back yard digging into the car i am taking pic's along the way will post more as i do it just have seen a lot of post on this subject..

i am just a shade tree mechanic self taught by necessity..
with common hand tools..
we live we learn..
Old 07 Aug 2010, 12:25 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: 2005 pt timing belt

Welcome to the forum, since you've only been lurking on the side. Good luck with your project. Hopefully you've seen all the problems with changing the timing belt that people have had that didn't have too much experience with major mechanical work. You've also probably seen that we always recommend to change the water pump also at the same time because it wears out just like the belt and you have to go through the same procedure to change the pump as you do in changing the belt. Might as well do them together and not worry about either for another 100,000 miles.

Be careful when lining up the gears as many pro and non-pro have done it wrong and had the dreaded ruff idle and and to do it all over again.

I'm not trying to scare you, just letting you know it's not an easy job as you might have found out from reading the forum. Again, good luck. Let us know how it went.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Old 07 Aug 2010, 01:36 pm
Senior Cruiser