PT Cruiser Forum  
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

About to ?*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 01:28 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida.
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Cruising Mike
Default About to ?*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

My air conditioner freaking sucks. It somehow makes the car damn near stall out while sitting at red lights. I figure I'll add a little freon/refrigerant to it, and we'll see if that works. Simple, right.

Well I see a port on the A/C but my Haynes Manual says don't put it in that port, put it in the other port on the low side. The Haynes is for 01-03 Cruisers and I have an 05, but how different could it be, right. In the picture in the manual, the other port is right there.

BUT IT IS NOT ANYWHERE IN MY FREAKING CAR!

I am seriously about to lose it. An hour's worth of Google searches later, and I am no closer to being able to add this freaking freon.

The Haynes Manual is no longer an option because it is currently in about five different pieces.

So please, before I lose my freaking mind, can someone please tell me where the hell this "low-side" port is? A diagram would be even better.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by CREWZIN; 07 Sep 2010 at 08:30 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 01:40 pm
DreamCruiser02's Avatar
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 25
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

On the left side of the engine there are two metal looking hoses with ports on top. You need to fill the one with the smaller port(should be the one on the right) the fill hose will only fit on that one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 01:51 pm
DreamCruiser02's Avatar
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 25
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

Being low on freon probably isn't why your car is stalling.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 02:11 pm
Fanatic Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 745
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

I agree, the freon level would not cause the car to stall. Does the a/c blow warm? If it's still cold, you don't need any freon, and likely wouldn't be able to add any because the system is probably already full.
__________________
-Chris
2010 PT Cruiser Classic, Deep Water Blue
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 02:25 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida.
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Cruising Mike
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

The A/C blows cold when I'm driving, but warm when I'm sitting at a light, which is also when I get the bucking/shaking/stalling, which is why I figured adding freon might be worth a shot.

This is about the billionth problem I've had with this car. I'm ready to trade it in for a Toyota or Honda, but I still love it, so I keep trying these low-cost stalls to try to get another few days out of it.

I still love the PT, but apparently it hates me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamCruiser02 View Post
On the left side of the engine there are two metal looking hoses with ports on top. You need to fill the one with the smaller port(should be the one on the right) the fill hose will only fit on that one.
When it comes to the inner workings of cars, I'm about as uneducated as someone can be, but although I see the two hoses, I only see one port.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 02:39 pm
CREWZIN's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 24,249
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

I'm gonna have to agree , in some part, with Mike. I have the Service Manual for the 01-04 cruisers. The Haynes and Chilton only cover 01-03. Even though the SM covers 01-04 it still shows both ports near each other on the top of the engine as the Haynes manual does but I'm pretty sure Chrysler, for some unknown reason, changed the low side port. Like mike, I just did a pretty good search on the Internet for the location of the port. Nobody actually says where the port is but they do say they have recharged the system so it must be there. I can't check myself because I have an 01 but what we need is someone with an 04+ cruiser to show or say where it is.

Mike, my guess is that it might be a dual port on the compressor itself. The compressor has a relief valve (green) and it might act as a pressure relief valve AND the low service port. I know it's not on the accumulator (there is a cycling switch) but no port. This is only a guess so until someone comes along and actually says where it is, we have to wait.

Now, as DreamCruiser02 said, that's not why your almost stalling. The PCM raises the idle when the A/C is on. It raises it also when you use the power steering. It raises the idle to compensate for the power being taken away form the engine when the A/C-Power Steering is used. I'm not sure of the exact way it does the raising but it has nothing to do with weather your a/c is working. There's also the IAC (Idle Air Controller that's attached tothe throttle body that controls the butterfly in the throttle body so it doesn't slam shut when you come to a stop and holds it open when the car is cold so more fuel and air come into the engine. It can get dirty and it can be taken off and cleaned. Just a thought.
__________________
......
...just CREWZIN along! . . . PT Cruiser Links Moderator
2000 PT. Original Owner, 119,000 miles
MY technical suggestions are given in GOOD FAITH without total guarantee, if in doubt go to a garage.
Visit My Home Page www.CREWZIN.com

Last edited by CREWZIN; 26 Aug 2010 at 02:42 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 02:53 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

It's me in Mexico again.... My A/C does have freon - but blows warm air - found this on a previous post --

could it be this simple for a high pressure switch?
Air Conditioner lines freeze - why ??
cindy cindy@cozumelmexicohomes.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 03:03 pm
CREWZIN's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 24,249
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

cintra07,

That was my answer back in 09 ...and I was wrong. The picture I posted was the cycling switch NOT the high pressure switch which is on the compressor. The cycling switch makes sure the compressor turn on and off because if it stays on everythings gets extremely ice cold and parts freeze up. The only way to stop it is to turn the air to warm for awhile or turn the A/C off for awhile. The freezing stops and you'll have cold air again till it freezes up again. The cycling switch is easy to replace as no R134a is lost when taking the old one off and replacing it with a new switch.

If you not getting cold air to begin with, that switch is NOT your problem.
__________________
......
...just CREWZIN along! . . . PT Cruiser Links Moderator
2000 PT. Original Owner, 119,000 miles
MY technical suggestions are given in GOOD FAITH without total guarantee, if in doubt go to a garage.
Visit My Home Page www.CREWZIN.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 03:17 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

OK, then that isn't the issue either - even when I turn it off and then on it never gets cold like it's suppose to. perhaps a slightly colder but not right.
so ... now what ? he said i have freon and there is no leak.
It is the 'can' looking thing, but don't think it's a compressor. he would have told me that even if it's in spanish. ... go to be something else.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26 Aug 2010, 03:21 pm
CREWZIN's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 24,249
Default Re: About to F*#@ing lose it! (Adding freon to A/C)

Mike sorry to interrupt your problem.

cintra07,

Is your compressor coming ON at all? Do you hear it clicking on? If it is coming on, is the fan running to cool the compressor, radiator and condenser?
__________________
......
...just CREWZIN along! . . . PT Cruiser Links Moderator
2000 PT. Original Owner, 119,000 miles
MY technical suggestions are given in GOOD FAITH without total guarantee, if in doubt go to a garage.
Visit My Home Page www.CREWZIN.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADDING A SECOND HORN rszappa1 General PT Cruiser Discussions 15 08 Sep 2010 02:56 pm
A/C freon leakage, looking for help yl003760 General PT Cruiser Discussions 4 25 Dec 2009 01:54 pm
Non Factory Stereo -- Do you lose the in dash display? Aurock Sound and Security Forum 5 06 Jan 2009 10:50 pm
Adding a second horn coopj40 Exterior Accessories Forum 14 12 May 2004 05:36 pm
Lose that weight Mel K Tech & Performance Forum 6 02 Nov 2003 08:41 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors