Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Looking To Buy A PT Cruiser For Daughter

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06 Oct 2010, 04:02 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Looking To Buy A PT Cruiser For Daughter

My college student daughter needs a car and we have been running all over northern NJ looking for one, wasting time and energy. She likes the PT Cruiser (I do too) and missed out on a private sale one a week ago that probably would have been ideal for her. We have a budget of $4000-4500 and we don't want to finance, so we'd be looking at something around an '03 or so. We need reliability, good gas mileage, and a fairly clean repair record.

As I'm not a PT expert, can anyone fill me in on:

Where I might find one in nortern NJ (We've been scouring Auto Trader, etc)?
What quirks or problems with the car should I be aware of?
How reliable are they in the long run?

All help is appreciated. Thanks.
Old 06 Oct 2010, 04:31 pm
Young Cruiser

Default Re: Looking To Buy A PT Cruiser For Daughter

I just got mine a month ago but did a lot research. Reliability seems to be a lot better than most. I am more than happy with my used one. Only thing you need to know is that 100,000 miles you need to replace the timing belt, water pump, and tensioner which runs around $1,000. Don't skip this as it's very important. Other than that a PT should serve your daughter well.
Old 06 Oct 2010, 04:44 pm
Fanatic Cruiser

One thing ive noticed about the cruiser is that its consistently very reliable. But if you want something good on gas, look somewhere else. Their very safe and comfortable cars, so i dont mind paying more for gas personally.
But like wishbone said, the timing belt and pump will need to be changed. But its insane to pay 1000$ for it. Do it yourself , save money.
Personally, if i were a parent, i would love my daughter to own a cruiser and know shes very safe, rather than saving some gas money.