PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
ground wire on ft.struts

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30 Oct 2010, 01:07 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default ground wire on ft.struts

I had to have the lower control arm bushings replaced 3 yrs. ago at about 47000 mi. tonight I noticed that there is a wire going from the strut to the body was cut in half. I assume it is a ground wire & do I need to address this? I brlieve the dealer mech cut it when changing the bushings, no idea why Thanks Guy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30 Oct 2010, 05:05 am
chigger_ns's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 278
Default Re: ground wire on ft.struts

They relieve the static electricity that the rotating parts make I guess.
Many members say that if they are cut or missing that your wheel bearings will fail prematurely.
Yes, fix them.
__________________
2001 PT 5 speed Touring Edition
Eibach Pro Springs, Energy Suspension HyperFlex Master Kit bushings, 17" RTX Euro wheels, K&N drop in air filter, MotoMaster flat plate AGM battery, KYB GR2 shocks and struts, Booger standard shifter bushings, Ooogah horn.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30 Oct 2010, 05:05 am
Hooligan's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,023
Default Re: ground wire on ft.struts

There are a few posts about this. It is a ground wire that hopefully prevents the bearing from "spalling" and then you replace it. Best thing is to reattach it.
__________________

2008 Silver Steel Metallic, Touring, NA, Sirius; Chromed door handles; lower grille; fog light surrounds; chrome front & rear bumpers strips; Airaid air filter; Bassani duals; Modesty Cover; Autolite AP5263 Platinum Plugs (.040); Crane Plug Wires; NAPA Ceramic pads; Blane hood struts; PTeazer Gas, Brake & Foot Rest Pedals, '05 Rear Step Pad, Stainless Door Sills, Llumar tint, "A" Piller chrome; APC Strut Bar
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18 Nov 2010, 09:04 pm
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Default Re: ground wire on ft.struts

yes you need to fix it at once. i cant begin to tell you the nightmare in replacing front bearing and hub assembly. the wire is a ground that directs stray arc's of static electricity off of the bearing and hub. have you ever accidently touched a wrench across your batt. terminals. thats what it can do to the smooth surfaces in your hub. ive seen it myself, and its nasty[/U]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18 Nov 2010, 10:01 pm
twress's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: saginaw michigan
Posts: 6,838
Default Re: ground wire on ft.struts

Guess I don't need to reply to this... lol..everyone already has the right anwsers...
__________________
ROUNDIN UP THE WAGONS 02 LIMITED WOODY, 89 CAPRICE CLASSIC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground wire placement? chuck2112 Tech & Performance Forum 2 01 Mar 2010 07:24 am
Ground wire elmeyer Tech & Performance Forum 2 01 Nov 2009 08:40 pm
Ground wire on hood? Hoot23 General PT Cruiser Discussions 1 15 Jul 2007 11:23 pm
Crappy Ground Wire Mean Green General Turbo Discussions 2 31 Dec 2004 09:56 pm
Ground wire on hood?? wyzard Tech & Performance Forum 2 16 Apr 2004 11:05 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors