Advertisements
Door lock problems

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06 Feb 2011, 04:48 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Door lock problems

Hi All,

I'm new to this but it seems like everyone is very nice and helpful. I have a 2001 base PT. Today while driving, my door locks began erratically trying to lock. In the same way they do when the car hits 15mph after having the doors unlocked. The rear hatch lock also seemed to be making a noise as well (almost a grinding noise) when the locks were acting up. I've read other posts where the RKE module was the problem, but all those situations seemed to be the doors unlocking and locking; mine was just locking. Wondering if anyone has had similar problems or knows a solution. Any help is greatly appreciated and thank you in advance!

Last edited by moparfan1; 06 Feb 2011 at 05:43 pm.
Old 06 Feb 2011, 05:59 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Door lock problems

You've already ran across others with the RKE problem. It's the only module that controls all the locks. I take it that it started happening when you reached the 15mph mark?
MY technical suggestions are given in GOOD FAITH without total guarantee, if in doubt go to a garage.
Cruiser Of The Month (COTM) May, 2015.
Visit My Home Page www.CREWZIN.com
I find it ironic that the colors red, white, and blue stand for freedom until they are flashing behind you.
Old 06 Feb 2011, 06:20 pm
Dedicated Cruiser

I cant help with your problem but welcome to the forum.
Old 06 Feb 2011, 09:19 pm
Fresh Cruiser

thanks for the response....correct, I was at speeds 0f 30-40 mph. For now I've removed the fuse for the locks.
Old 10 Jun 2012, 10:41 am
Fresh Cruiser