PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Reset TCM Error Code

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07 Jun 2011, 10:23 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 56
Default Reset TCM Error Code

I replaced by TCM with a reprogrammed/remanufactured one I purchased online. Also replaced by shift solenoid ... and i'm still getting a check engine like P0700 for TCM. Do I need to take this to a Transmission shop to have it reset or is there another problem that needs to be addressed.


Also this is a project of mine so it's not currently titled, so I may not be able to drive it to a transmission shop ... Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08 Jun 2011, 07:06 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 56
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

Any info on how to reset this? Do I have to bring my TCM somewhere or drive my pt to a transmission shop? C'mon one of you PT Guru's has to know somethin' ... :-p
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08 Jun 2011, 08:24 pm
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: .
Posts: 271
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

Did you disconnect the battery and wait 10-15 minutes, and reconnect?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08 Jun 2011, 09:11 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 113
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

p0700 means to go look in the TCM and see what code is in there. You need to know what the TCM has got stored before you can do anything.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10 Jun 2011, 09:07 am
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 56
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

I disconnected the battery for the appropriate time and it came back on. Does P0700 mean there is something stored in the TCM that needs to be reset at a shop, or does it merely indicate that something else is wrong?


Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10 Jun 2011, 09:20 am
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 56
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

Also I replaced the TCM with a re-manufactured/reprogrammed one. And I picked up a couple of speed sensors and a transmission shift solenoid from a local junkyard (primarily from only pt's that had been wrecked, so there's a higher likelihood the trans was in decent shape.) Of course I hear the shift solenoid is a really common issue so I may end up buying a new one to see if that helps ... Also changed fluid and filter ...

Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10 Jun 2011, 09:20 am
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 113
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

P0700 means there's a trouble code stored in the TCM. You need to find out what code is in the TCM before you can diagnose it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11 Jun 2011, 09:05 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 56
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

My question was mainly... Is there a chance I have fixed the problems and need something simply reset ... or is this a sign of another problem I have yet to address?

Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11 Jun 2011, 09:53 pm
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 113
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

Sorry, didn't catch that. A battery disconnect would reset the TCM and PCM. So, if the p0700 came right back, that means there is an active problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12 Jun 2011, 05:52 am
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 56
Default Re: Reset TCM Error Code

I've read on some sites that certain error codes have to be reset by a scanner and cannot be reset by disconnecting the battery. Is this true?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to reset TCM? Error code P0700 crackdtooth Tech & Performance Forum 14 13 Apr 2015 07:06 pm
Error Code bus b8 or 68, not sure. richardbradley Tech & Performance Forum 2 18 May 2010 07:45 pm
Error Code bds02pt Tech & Performance Forum 2 29 Jan 2010 03:01 pm
CPS Error Code smokeydan1 Tech & Performance Forum 16 23 Sep 2008 09:58 pm
Error code?? whiteknight Tech & Performance Forum 3 15 Mar 2008 10:29 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors