Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Misfire fixed... oh wait. Nope.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18 Aug 2012, 05:30 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Misfire fixed... oh wait. Nope.

Hi all. I've learned a lot from tons of posts here, but this is my first time post.

I took my 2006 manual trans PT 2.4 (not a turbo) into the mechanic to diagnose an engine light. I got back a code for "misfire on cylinder 1". The mechanic said he checked the primary and secondary ignition systems and wanted to replace the ignition coil pack and plugs. I said "no thanks" so I could do it myself.

I followed the guide here and successfully replaced the coil pack, plug wires, plugs - and while I was at it I popped in a new air filter and pcv valve.

I drove the car for about 30 miles and things seemed great. But on my way home during my test drive I would pop it into neutral (just depressing and holding the clutch down) when coming to a stop and the PT stalled. I tested it a few more times and 3 out of 5 times it would stall. The other 2 times the idle would dip down to almost 0 then recover.

And, of course, when I finally get back to my driveway and let it sit and idle for a while the engine light comes back on. But this time it comes on flashing for about a minute, then goes away for several minutes before coming back on and blinking for a few minutes. What the what?

I did the key dance and it didn't come up with any codes. I'm trying to track down a friend with a scanner to see what code it spits out now (if not the same misfire one). But in the meantime, has anyone else run into this scenario? Am I looking at a Idle Control replacement or does this sound like it could be a vacuum leak?

Thanks,
Garry