PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
"error" on odometer......

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28 Aug 2012, 08:49 pm
ssnobrakes's Avatar
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Roswell,ga
Posts: 3
Cool "error" on odometer......

Hello.........This is my 1st post on this forum. We have an 08 PT Cruiser convertible that we love. Up untill now we really havent had any problems with (We are the original owners) the car. Two days ago the battery died and we had to jump start the car 2-3 times. After the last time it was jump started we noticed that it now says "error" on the odometer. It didnt throw a engine light, or any other code and everything else seems to work fine (speedo,dash lights, turn signals, etc) I tried to clear it by dissconnecting the battery for an hour and have put in a new battery......Anyone have any ideas,or experience with this problem? Any comments?..........Thanks in advance........Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28 Aug 2012, 08:56 pm
Busted_PT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beckley, W.V.
Posts: 13,895
Default Re: "error" on odometer......

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssnobrakes View Post
Hello.........This is my 1st post on this forum. We have an 08 PT Cruiser convertible that we love. Up untill now we really havent had any problems with (We are the original owners) the car. Two days ago the battery died and we had to jump start the car 2-3 times. After the last time it was jump started we noticed that it now says "error" on the odometer. It didnt throw a engine light, or any other code and everything else seems to work fine (speedo,dash lights, turn signals, etc) I tried to clear it by dissconnecting the battery for an hour and have put in a new battery......Anyone have any ideas,or experience with this problem? Any comments?..........Thanks in advance........Steve
I would go to a auto parts store and have them hook it to a scan tool and see if it can reed your computer.
__________________

03 Dream stock___________________________ 04 Touring turbo lite stock_________ 02 Touring stock_____________________ The "Three Amigos"
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___________Performance, Body and Service, OEM

This Is my project page.
http://www.ptcruiserlinks.com/forum/...oject-1-a.html

This is a great read from one of our own! Badglas
badglas.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28 Aug 2012, 08:59 pm
ssnobrakes's Avatar
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Roswell,ga
Posts: 3
Cool Re: "error" on odometer......

We took it to Advance Auto Parts and they scanned it , but no codes came up..........
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28 Aug 2012, 09:05 pm
Busted_PT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beckley, W.V.
Posts: 13,895
Default Re: "error" on odometer......

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssnobrakes View Post
We took it to Advance Auto Parts and they scanned it , but no codes came up..........
Well you might have to replace the speedo. Hopefully someone has a better idea, and will chime in on this.
__________________

03 Dream stock___________________________ 04 Touring turbo lite stock_________ 02 Touring stock_____________________ The "Three Amigos"
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___________Performance, Body and Service, OEM

This Is my project page.
http://www.ptcruiserlinks.com/forum/...oject-1-a.html

This is a great read from one of our own! Badglas
badglas.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28 Aug 2012, 09:47 pm
2step's Avatar
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Braunfels, Texas.
Posts: 1,672
Default Re: "error" on odometer......

If the car is running alright is the main thing. After a certain amout of re-starts it may clear itself and return to a normal read out. Give it a few days and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28 Aug 2012, 11:07 pm
crazyptguy's Avatar
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: martins ferry ohio
Posts: 422
Default Re: "error" on odometer......

this just happened to me it will clear after a few days
__________________
03 Pt Woody Classic 116k miles Rebuild project.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29 Aug 2012, 12:27 pm
ssnobrakes's Avatar
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Roswell,ga
Posts: 3
Cool Re: "error" on odometer......

Thanks for the replies............
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29 Aug 2012, 12:45 pm
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 27,744
Default Re: "error" on odometer......

Want to clear it now (hopefully)? Take off the negative battery cable for about 5 minutes, Step on the brake peddle while the cable is off, then put it all back together. 99% of the errors are cleared using that method.
__________________
Rules of the forum have been updated as of *07/07/2019* Please read them over.

- All decisions by the Moderator are semi-permanent, can and may be changed at his discretion but definitely will be the final word. Any action performed by the Administrator or Moderators are not to be discussed on the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01 Jul 2014, 06:20 am
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Default Re: "error" on odometer......

Has anyone actually had luck with resolving this issue? I bought an 08 PT Cruiser last night at a very good price for my daughter. This is really the only issue with the car. It is showing error where the odometer is. I am waiting to license the car to bring it home and try removing the ground cable to clear the error but now I'm fearing the worst that the cluster may need replaced. Just curious if anyone has had this resolved and what the solution was?
Thanks!
PTDad
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01 Jul 2014, 11:13 am
rckstein's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,518
Default Re: "error" on odometer......

You might try resetting the instrument cluster:


Last edited by rckstein; 03 Jul 2014 at 04:43 pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo "phhsssss" or "whoosh" sound--Normal? Silenceable? Help! Memark General Turbo Discussions 13 24 Nov 2010 10:56 pm
Part number for "PT" door emblems on 2008 Dream Cruiser 5 gpr75 General PT Cruiser Discussions 6 16 Jul 2010 12:15 pm
What does "mass airflow" mean in fault/error codes? Krazkat Tech & Performance Forum 3 04 Nov 2009 09:36 pm
Odometer flashes the word "head" feefeethaflee Tech & Performance Forum 20 19 Aug 2009 12:31 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors