Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Tranny Issues

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 Dec 2012, 02:16 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Tranny Issues

Hey guys, newbie here with a question that I hope you guys can answer.
Recently I picked up a 2002 Cruiser for the wife. Non-Turbo, with a 5 speed. She loves it except for an annoying transmission problem; the dreaded popping out of 5th gear (has done 3rd a couple of times too).
It was doing it when we bought it, so we got it for a really good price. It's got less that 120XXX miles on it and it's got a brand new head on it. When we bought it the guy told us about the problem and said it had just started so he had just driven with his hand resting on the shifter. Back then (about 2 months ago) it was not nearly as bad as it is now. You could rest your hand on it and it wouldn't pop out. I did some research and read about the shifter bushings issue. I bought a set of Bugger Bushings thinking it would fix the problem. When I got everything apart to do the install I noticed that the bushings didn't seem to be that bad; it looked like they had been replaced in the not-so-distant past. I went ahead and did the swap, bolted everything back down and took it for a test drive. The bushings did tighten up 1-4, but it immediately kicked 5th out, almost forcefully. I checked the bushings again and they are extremely tight, no slack and fully seated. Thing is that now it doesn't just pop out of gear, it kicks. If you ride with your hand on it you can feel it trying to kick it out.