Right wheel gets bumpy at 75 mph

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Gamer92

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18 May 2013, 04:50 pm
Young Cruiser

Default Right wheel gets bumpy at 75 mph

Hi everybody,
Today as I was driving on the highway I realized that when my PT hits 75 mph (more or less), a rapid bumpy sound generates from the front right of the car (I assume from the wheel). It sounds as if I were driving on a rumble strip, just that I'm not :-/
Today it's Saturday, and tomorrow Sunday, so it's unlikely I'll have the chance to bring it to an autorepair before Monday, and I have a 2 and half hour drive to make it back home. What could it be? Should I be concerned? The noise doesn't seem to happen if I drive within 70 mph. No other feeling to report.
Thoughts?

Thanks a lot. It's my first car and my first PT so I'm not very experienced...
Old 18 May 2013, 05:15 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Right wheel gets bumpy at 75 mph

It's a busted shock. It could be dangerous if you try to go that fast. So If you are going to drive home. Keep your speed well under your symptoms. I have drove worse and further. Be especially careful when turning left and the weight shifts to that side. If it bounces slow down more. Just take your time and give yourself plenty of room.

03 Dream stock___________________________ 04 Touring turbo lite stock_________ 02 Touring stock_____________________ The "Three Amigos"
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___________Performance, Body and Service, OEM

This Is my project page.
http://www.ptcruiserlinks.com/forum/...oject-1-a.html

This is a great read from one of our own! Badglas
badglas.blogspot.com

Last edited by Busted_PT; 18 May 2013 at 05:23 pm.
Old 18 May 2013, 05:27 pm
Young Cruiser

What I thought and feared.
Is it going to be very expensive?
Old 18 May 2013, 05:41 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddharta1979 View Post