PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Motor Mount question/issue

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09 Jun 2013, 11:30 am
dadjmon's Avatar
Fresh Cruiser
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 41
Default Motor Mount question/issue

Hi . I have an 03 non turbo automatic touring edition. About a year or so ago I had the upper and lower motor mounts replaced (no the shop didn't fill them in with urethane or anything, just replaced them). A couple months after I started to get a funny popping noise at different times. When you would put it in or out of gear, sometimes when tunring it would make a pop. Not a heavy suspension like pop more like when you catch a rock with the tire and it pops. After checking the suspension and a lot of head scratching, the shop found the big bolt on the top motor mount (the one that goes into the motor through the big rubber donut) was loose. They tightened it up and apologized as they thought they must have forgot to tighten it when they replaced it. Ok, we all make mistakes. Well last week the noise started again. I finally had a chance to look at it today and again, the same bolt is loose. I tightened the hell out of it and the noise is gone. What could be causing that bolt to loosen every few months? Do I need to pull it out and coat it with thread locker?
__________________
Got Vinyl? 03 Touring Electric Blue, 17" HD Cool Down rims, Tinted Windows, K&N Cold Air Intake, Pioneer DEH-P7800MP head unit with XM Satellite radio, 6 3/4 Infinity Kappa Component Speakers in front doors, 6x8 Infinity Kappa 2 way speakers in rear pillars, Infinity 475a amp, Custom under seat 8 inch Kicker CompVT sub with zx200.2 Kicker amp and SSL 2 farad capacitor.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09 Jun 2013, 11:44 am
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: darien il
Posts: 4,592
Default Re: Motor Mount question/issue

i would use threadlock on it if it's coming loose. if that bolt is loose, the metal doesn't interlock and all the stress is placed on the bolt. i have sheared that bolt off twice. so anything to prevent it from loosening would be in your best interest.

i don't know why it would loosen. i think maybe they did not tighten it enough to begin with. it's supposed to be 85ft/lbs. that is very difficult to do since only a wrench fits in there. if you "tightened the hell out of it", you're probably right around where you should be.

Last edited by rob342; 09 Jun 2013 at 11:51 am.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor mount lmcs1234 Tech & Performance Forum 3 13 May 2013 10:39 am
motor mount inserts question crazyptguy Tech & Performance Forum 22 09 Jul 2012 09:10 pm
03 GT motor mount question 4SPEED General Turbo Discussions 3 29 Feb 2012 11:19 am
Motor mount question???? jmont2536 Tech & Performance Forum 5 11 Sep 2011 08:19 pm
Upper Motor Mount Issue Mathias Tech & Performance Forum 6 22 Sep 2010 01:24 am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors