Advertisements
Blowing high-beam fuses

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By otfiddler

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19 Jul 2013, 01:10 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Blowing high-beam fuses

I've been driving without fuse #8 and fog lamps for a couple of years now, and I've just noticed that when I attempt to switch on high beams I blow fuse #16 --- might that be related to the suspect Multi-Function Switch?
Old 26 Aug 2013, 07:22 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Re: Blowing high-beam fuses

OK, I've answered my own question --- I replaced the Multi-Function Switch, and I still blow fuse #16 ( but at least I have fog lights again).
My next question is, can high-beam bulbs cause fuse #16 to blow when a bulb dies?
I hate to buy new bulbs if it won't fix my problem, because I suspect I won't be able to return them.
Old 26 Aug 2013, 07:36 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by otfiddler View Post
OK, I've answered my own question --- I replaced the Multi-Function Switch, and I still blow fuse #16 ( but at least I have fog lights again).
My next question is, can high-beam bulbs cause fuse #16 to blow when a bulb dies?
I hate to buy new bulbs if it won't fix my problem, because I suspect I won't be able to return them.
Just look at the bulbs and see if they are blown. If Filament is not broken, get to work finding the short. check the wiring behind the fuse block for charring. If no luck there start following the wires from the head lights back, looking for damage or rubbing on metal edges.

03 Dream stock___________________________ 04 Touring turbo lite stock_________ 02 Touring stock_____________________ The "Three Amigos"
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___________Performance, Body and Service, OEM

This Is my project page.
http://www.ptcruiserlinks.com/forum/...oject-1-a.html

This is a great read from one of our own! Badglas
badglas.blogspot.com
Old 13 Sep 2013, 12:53 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Closure: