Advertisements
Poor Gas Milage - Need Help

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08 Aug 2013, 07:54 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Poor Gas Milage - Need Help

hello,

I am new to this forum. I looks like a lot of good information. I know this topic comes up a lot and I have been reading all the post trying to figure this problem out for the last 3 hours but no luck.

I am a professional diesel mechanic and somewhat know what to check. But I am having big time problems with this. I just bought my wife a 2003 PT Cruiser non turbo Touring edition 140,00 miles. This car runs good, with no active or pending codes. it is getting 17.5 mpg on the highway. Driving speed is 70 mph at the most. Very, very easy take offs. after the 1st tank I started checking out some things. I found the spark plug were horrible. wasnt much left of them. The gap was about well over double of what is should have been. I just knew I found the problem. So i change the plug wires to along with the pcv valve, since I broke it, and added injector cleaner. But no change at all. I checked out the Cat and it seems to be ok. its about 200 degrees diffrence between front and rear of the the cat. Tires are inflated correctly. Air filter is clean. This car is getting about 50 miles per 1/4 tank. You can almost watch the needle fall. I have figured out the mpg the proper way by dividing the miles driven by the gallons used. I fill up at the same pump at the same station.

Is there anything I am missing? I cant find any vacuum leaks anywhere, no sparks jumping from the coil. I see people talking about reseting the computer, is that something that may work? as i am typing this the battery is disconected.

Thanks for any help.
Eric
Old 08 Aug 2013, 08:05 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Poor Gas Milage - Need Help