Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Transmission Problems

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03 Sep 2013, 02:00 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Transmission Problems

Newbie here, and not auto savvy so I apologize for any miscommunication or lack of technical terminology.

I have a 2002 PT cruiser with automatic transmission. Last week I was taking someone to the airport and as I would accelerate, the RPMs would increase however the car never switched into the next gear. I was on the freeway and had to stick to the 45mph minimum speed, so I was in the 4-5K+ rpm region. When I would take my foot off the gas, the car wouldn't coast like it usually does and decreased speed at a fast rate. This leads me to believe I was still in a low gear and have transmission problems.

I took backroads home so that I didn't have to push the RPMs ("redline") and the car has been sitting home ever since. I started "Google-ing" the problems and came across this site. (thank you all for establishing a good resource on here and also thank you in advance for reading my post and helping) I was able to pull the codes and they came back with:

P1684-Driver 5 Line 4
After reading about it on here, P1684 does not indicate a problem; it's only a status, which indicates that the PCM memory has been cleared within the last 50 ignition cycles.

P0700 Transmission Control System Malfunction
After doing research, it sounds like I need to have the TCM read? However I am hesitant to take it to the shop and get charged out the ass (college student here) for something that some have said might just require having the transaxle flushed. (Having got the car from my aunty about 6 months ago, I doubt she took that good of care of it)

P0134 HO2S Circuit Insufficient Activity Bank 1 Sensor 1
Could the O2 sensor be the cause of the transmission not changing gears?

P0442 Evaporative Emission (EVAP) System Small Leak Detected