PT Cruiser Forum  

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Vent Selector Broken

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04 Sep 2013, 09:36 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Vent Selector Broken

Good Morning - This morning I discovered my vent selector is broken. It will only blow air out of the dash vents and won't let me change it to defrost or the lower vents. When I try to turn it to the windshield defrost it just springs back. Is there an easy fix for this? It would be a bummer this winter to not be able to defrost the windshield! Thanks!
Old 04 Sep 2013, 10:25 am
Senior Cruiser

Default Re: Vent Selector Broken

It is cable driven so you can take the center apart and see if it has came unhooked or if the cable is binding somewhere.
Old 04 Sep 2013, 11:15 am
Fresh Cruiser

Ray - Thanks for the reply. Does the center console come apart easily? I am not a very mechanical person
Old 04 Sep 2013, 11:59 am
Senior Cruiser

What year Cruiser do you have? It isn't too bad at all but but knowing the year will help us give you more info to getting apart.
Old 04 Sep 2013, 04:51 pm
Senior Cruiser

On a first gen, this 'spring back' will happen if the mechanical "fresh-air" default fails.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancr5678 View Post
...When I try to turn it to the windshield defrost it just springs back. Is there an easy fix for this? ...
On a 2005 or older, the first thing I'd do is move the right-most control to the fresh air position. If a lever on the back side is stuck, the air-flow direction dial will not rotate to defrost (mix-defrost).