Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
'03 Turn Signal Makes Clock Flash

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20 Oct 2013, 01:20 am
Fresh Cruiser

Question '03 Turn Signal Makes Clock Flash

I've got a bit of an odd one here. Sometimes, when I put my turn signal on, all of the lights on my instrument panel and my clock/radio display flash in time with the turn signal. This does not happen all the time. It will happen once, and then the next time I use the turn signal, it will not happen. Any ideas on the cause and a fix? I am not a mechanic, but I'd like to try to resolve the problem myself.

My car is a 2003 PT Cruiser Limited, Manual Transmission, with 200,750 miles on it.

Just in case this might help with some theories (i.e., there could be some relationship to wiring or wire harness), I also recently got a check engine light and my car went into limp mode. I did the key dance and got a P0340 and a P0301. The check engine light stayed on for a couple of days, then went off for a week, then came back on for a couple of days, then went off. When it has been back off, my car has been running perfectly. I have not yet tried replacing the cam sensor or the spark plug. As the check engine light is jumping on and off, I'm wondering if I am even actually having those issues or if I am getting some false positives.

I would appreciate any theories and help.

-Rick
Old 20 Oct 2013, 07:13 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: '03 Turn Signal Makes Clock Flash

With that many miles, things are bound to start happening.

You wiring harness for both the multi-function switch (lights/turn signals) and the clock/radio all go down the steering column together. It's possible, somewhere the wires are crossing and maybe touching together.

While standing still with both the turn signal and radio on, used the adjustment on the steering wheel to raise and lower the wheel to see if you can make it happen.