Advertisements
Below Zero Temps and Unable to Start

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06 Dec 2013, 06:31 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Below Zero Temps and Unable to Start

Hi!

I need help with my 2006 Base PT Cruiser. It has been below zero for 3 days in a row. The first couple of days, my car had a hard time starting. Now on the 3rd day, it just clicks. I have tried to jump it but and the starter is turning over, however, it will not start. While trying to jump it, there was a smell of gas, but I have a 1/2 tank. I am thinking possibly a fuel pump?
I am trying to locate the fuel line and the fuel gauge test port to see if it is the fuel pump, but I can not find a picture online to where it is located and I cant find it looking under the hood myself. Also, would this be happening because its too cold and should I wait it out until it is above zero?
I am no mechanic by any means but would appreciate anyone's help/advice/anything. Once I took the jumper cables off the battery, it just clicks again when I try to start it. Thanks for reading and helping!
Old 06 Dec 2013, 06:36 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Below Zero Temps and Unable to Start

Buy some starting fluid and give a shot in the air intake.
Your battery is low if starter only clicks.
talexander likes this.

'05 Limited Turbo Lite, (Silver, of course)4-wheel ABS, Sunroof, Spoiler. Mods: E&G Classic grill, K&N FIPK, BTG duals, rear lowered 1.5", LED washer lights, $20 catch can, Aoogah horn, Weatherflectors, Sunroof Deflector, Fuzzy Dice, rear logo flames, rear pinstripe graphic, Gen3 Taillights, rear sway bar, hood struts, Strut bar.
Traded in '02 Silver Touring Edition w/87,000 miles
Old 06 Dec 2013, 06:59 pm
Senior Cruiser

New battery for sure, peace ( piece ? ) of mind will follow .
PS Nelson Mandela would have drove a PT , just sayin
talexander likes this.