PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
drowning in oil

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10 Feb 2014, 03:23 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Exclamation drowning in oil

oook heres what I got.....im a backyard mechanic and yesterday I had a client drop a 2007 pt cruiser off at my house. he bought it from a friend and had no knowledge of anything being wrong besides the struts where bad and the ball joints where a pot hole away from snapping. I hooked it up to the battery charger and tried getting it started and it just wasent happening. so I hooked it up to my scanner and got engine oil pressure sensor/switch circuit-low voltage. so I checked the oil....now heres where it gets interesting, he had at LEAST 4 quarts over filled! so I drained the oil until it was in the "safe" marks, tried starting it again and it was a little easier to turn over but still not starting. so I checked the plugs, saturated in oil lol so I replaced them. while taking the intake manifold off I noticed even the air filter was saturated in oil. so my question is...how messed up do you guys think this car is? I know the rings are probably shot but it should still start. please give me your impute otherwise im just going to charge dude an hourly rate and start tearing the engine apart and figuring out exactly how deep this rabbit hole is. thanks!
Old 10 Feb 2014, 03:45 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: drowning in oil

From one shade tree mechanic to another, I'd drop both intake and exhaust manifolds, pour gasoline down the spark plug holes and flush the cylinders outs while turning the engine SLOWLY. Then I'd rinse out the intake, throttle body and the rest. Next, I'd inspect to see if oil went down the exhaust manifold. If so, the cat may need removal and rinse out too. Or just leave the thing off and mount a straight pipe with a port welded on for the O2 sensor.