Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By CREWZIN
  • 1 Post By CREWZIN

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04 Mar 2014, 07:58 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default PT Engine tripping and dying at LOW rpms

Hello,

I am new to posting on this site, but I have visited before with previous problems (and actually fixed a couple!) I am not a mechanic although I am proficient enough I could replace something if I know it needs replacing. In other words, I know enough to be extremely dangerous to myself and my pockets.

I bought a 2001 model PT Cruiser (3rd owner unfortunately) in July 2013, and have been spending too much money to get the car fixed up so there are no more problems. The car was in an accident to the passenger side (that was not reported), seems to have been relatively minor. Was going to have the brakes worked on and then repair / replace the passenger seat belt (which won't retract) but now I have another issue that I am going to have to take care of first, and I hope to provide enough detail here that someone will be able to let me know what the problem actually is.

When I am driving (speed limits always) down the road (highway or street) the car seems to be stubbing it's toes, like the engine died for a half second and then continues. Kinda rough on my innards. When I am at a stop, such as a light the engine dies and cranks but won't start unless I turn off the ignition first, then will start fairly normally, maybe a couple seconds longer.

The issue is intermittent and does not always happen. And it started after I bought gas at a different gas station (Shell) than I usually do (Valero), although I believe this is just a coincidence.

Error codes are, and in this order (I doubt it makes a difference):
1684 - Driver 5 Line 4
0340 - Camshaft Position (CMP) Sensor Circuit
0320 - Ignition/Distributor Engine Speed Input Circuit Malfunction
1391 - Wheel Speed Sensor 1 - G - Sensor Circuit Performance

BTW I got the code descriptions from skylight's post.