04 PT Cruiser overheating only when AC is on

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By curiozities
  • 1 Post By myckee

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05 Apr 2015, 06:15 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Unhappy 04 PT Cruiser overheating only when AC is on

Okay, hi guys. I'm a noob to this forum and here's my story.

First some basic info
  • 04 PT Cruiser
  • Normally aspirated engine (non-turbo)
  • About 88,000 original miles on it (I bought it nearly new, in 2005, with about 12K miles on it)
  • Automatic transmission

Okay, so about a year ago, my wife (the PT has actually been "her" car some years now) is driving when the engine overheats on her. The temp gauge went up, the red thermometer light came on and the dash started "dinging." She pulled over into a parking lot. We towed it to our regular shop to be safe (she has AAA).

The shop said it needed a radiator and also there was a leak around the thermostat housing. We don't have a lot of funds so we replaced the radiator and the thermostat, but didn't fix the thermo housing leak. I dealt with the leak by adding new anti-freeze (pre-blended Zerex G-05) every week.

So we stopped having overheating problems but then the AC stopped blowing cold air, right around the fall (thankfully, as we live in South Florida where you absolutely can't live without AC).

February this year, when the tax refund came in, we got the leaking housing and AC fixed (it was an electric component, can't remember which right now). All was good. But then the fan started giving us problems. So we replaced it a couple of weeks ago. After replacing the fan my wife said she noticed the car would shudder when idling.

Today, Easter Sunday, I was driving the whole family to our Easter lunch. I noticed shuddering and the AC would blow warm. Then, after half an hour of driving, the engine overheated, just as it did before on my wife (only now, my family is all there). The temp gauge went up, the red thermometer light came on and the dash started "dinging."