PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Missing VIN Sticker

Like Tree11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10 Jul 2015, 01:19 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Missing VIN Sticker

This is my first post. I just bought a 2001 PT Cruiser from a dealership and the VIN sticker in the drivers door opening is not there. It appears that the drivers door was replaced (paint on the inside of the door slightly different from the body). I bought the car in Pa, I am an NJ resident, will I have a problem when I go to register the car or when I go through inspection ? Can I get a replacement sticker ? The VIN number is on the tag in the windshield. I appreciate any help. I have already gotten good info from this site about the gas gauge on empty, Thanks again, Tony AKA Antiqueynot
Old 10 Jul 2015, 01:25 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Missing VIN Sticker

In every state I know of, the VIN on the dash is the one that matters. That's the one that police will often check. Here in Arkansas, as long as you have the title signed over to you, you would be good to go. And of course, the VIN is on that too.

Based on this, I could literally go to the DMV with the title from any other similar PT and get registration. And the only way I would be found out is if I get stopped by the police and they compare the VIN on my registration to the one on the dash. Of course, the VIN is on the firewall and possibly other locations as well. But these will match what is on the dash.

whiteclaw likes this.

Last edited by Handy_Cruiser; 10 Jul 2015 at 01:31 pm.
Old 10 Jul 2015, 01:31 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Handy_Cruiser, Thank you for the quick reply. I hoped that the VIN on the dash was the important one. I think I will be OK. I am sure I will be back with more questions, Thanks again, Antiqueynot
Old 10 Jul 2015, 02:45 pm
Obsessed Cruiser