PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
05 GT 16 mpg?!?

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08 Dec 2015, 08:05 pm
Young Cruiser

Default 05 GT 16 mpg?!?

Hey all, im new to PT's, but not new to fwd mopars or driving for mileage. My current daily is a 98 3 cyl 5 speed metro (averages better than 50 mpg) and my toy is a big turbo ACR SRT4 (averages low 20's being driven hard).
I bought an 05 mtx GT a few weeks ago to try it out as a new daily. I knew it should average mid 20's, but i figured i could milk a little better out of it because of my driving habits. I drive about 70 miles/day, 90% of which is cruising on rural highways. I average around 50-55 mph on the way to work and 55-60 mph from work. I am very light on accel, i shift at very low rpm, and i engine brake and coast as much as possible (i have a kill switch on the metro haha). In fact, this past tank, i made sure to never hit boost.
The first tank that i ran through it had about 100 miles of 70-75 mph on the interstate and the rest as previously described. I got 265 miles on that tank (93 octane) with ~11.2 gallons for an average of ~23 mpg, which was roughly what i expected. This past tank, i got 243 miles (89 octane since i granny it everywhere) on 15.1 gallons for an average of ~16 mpg (theres a little extra math in there for oversized tires, but it checks out).
The car has 90k miles on it and has no engine codes or issues with the exception of a stumble if i try to accellerate below 1k rpm. It also ate a cam sensor between these 2 tanks, but i swapped it with a spare one from the srt and all seems well. It has been cool and in the mid-30's in the mornings here (southern IL), but it shouldnt effect mileage that badly, or at least it doesnt in the metro with identical driving habits.