PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Ecu

 
Like Tree11Likes

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24 Apr 2016, 11:11 pm
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lewes DE
Posts: 58
Default Ecu

Dumb question I'm sure. But since I have never dealt with this before, I need to be enlightened. I have an ECU coming in from a GT to install on my T.E. Does the ECU have to be installed for Chrysler to flash it? Or can it just pay them to connect the ecu to their computer for the flash?
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25 Apr 2016, 07:37 am
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,630
Default Re: Ecu

Yes, you need someone to change the vin in the ecu. Once the vin is changed, it will be plug and play. Some dealers will do this, and others will not. The ones that will not presumably do not know how to use their system to do it, so they will tell you that it cannot be done. Any mechanic shop with a more sophisticated scanner can do it too, if they know how.

Yes, the ecu needs to be installed for them to flash it. One other forum member reported that he simply used his old ecu to drive to the dealer and he swapped out the computer in the parking lot. At that point the tech came out, connected their scanner device to the OBD2 port, flashed his vin, and he was able to start and drive the car home.

You can also send it to Syked ECU Tuning and for $40 plus shipping both ways, he can do it for you too.

Last edited by myckee; 25 Apr 2016 at 07:47 am.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25 Apr 2016, 01:56 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SW PA
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: Ecu

Quote:
Originally Posted by myckee View Post
Yes, you need someone to change the vin in the ecu. Once the vin is changed, it will be plug and play. Some dealers will do this, and others will not. The ones that will not presumably do not know how to use their system to do it, so they will tell you that it cannot be done. Any mechanic shop with a more sophisticated scanner can do it too, if they know how.

Yes, the ecu needs to be installed for them to flash it. One other forum member reported that he simply used his old ecu to drive to the dealer and he swapped out the computer in the parking lot. At that point the tech came out, connected their scanner device to the OBD2 port, flashed his vin, and he was able to start and drive the car home.

You can also send it to Syked ECU Tuning and for $40 plus shipping both ways, he can do it for you too.
Dumb question--- whats does T.E. stand for?

To old to know...
__________________
Addicted to Mopar You can tell how old I am..
65 Dodge Coronet 6 cyl 2dr Post
66 Ply Satellite with 273 engine swap to 69 340 4spd
70 340 4spd Dart Swinger "Those were the days my friend"
73 Charger SE
Had a few Vetts on the way 69, 85
Several Neons some flips
01 Sebring flip
Cruiser's 01, 220K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 03 133K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 06 110K Project Gone to new Home
Cruiser 05 Ltd 120,809 bought with broken belt Oct2015
May 16 Resurrected to once again roam the streets.

20 Miles South Of Pittsburgh
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25 Apr 2016, 02:49 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: oak creek, wi
Posts: 1,149
Default Re: Ecu

I'm going to guess Touring Edition.
chuzz likes this.
__________________
2005 Toyota Camry LE Salsa Red (Wife's)
2002 Automatic N/A (Mine) Inferno Red
2016 Kia Soul Plus Black
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25 Apr 2016, 03:46 pm
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lake Wales, FL
Posts: 4,870
Default Re: Ecu

Touring Edition would be my guess too. I'm not THAT old yet. I'll be 60 in August.
__________________


Aspire to inspire before you expire.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26 Apr 2016, 12:10 am
Young Cruiser
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lewes DE
Posts: 58
Default Re: Ecu

T.e = Touring Edition
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26 Apr 2016, 12:20 am
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SW PA
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: Ecu

Next dumb question.. Are GT's Turbos?

Are there GTs that are Touring Editions?

Opps, that two question..
__________________
Addicted to Mopar You can tell how old I am..
65 Dodge Coronet 6 cyl 2dr Post
66 Ply Satellite with 273 engine swap to 69 340 4spd
70 340 4spd Dart Swinger "Those were the days my friend"
73 Charger SE
Had a few Vetts on the way 69, 85
Several Neons some flips
01 Sebring flip
Cruiser's 01, 220K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 03 133K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 06 110K Project Gone to new Home
Cruiser 05 Ltd 120,809 bought with broken belt Oct2015
May 16 Resurrected to once again roam the streets.

20 Miles South Of Pittsburgh
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26 Apr 2016, 06:28 am
Veteran Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lake Wales, FL
Posts: 4,870
Default Re: Ecu

Well, my GT is a Turbo, Joe, but it's not a TE. I don't know how they came up with so many different trim packages for one vehicle. Or why, for that matter.
__________________


Aspire to inspire before you expire.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26 Apr 2016, 06:44 am
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SW PA
Posts: 1,348
Default Re: Ecu

Reason for dumb questions is : Is Cubx trying to use a Turbo ECM in a non Turbo

Turbos have special ECMs I believe.
__________________
Addicted to Mopar You can tell how old I am..
65 Dodge Coronet 6 cyl 2dr Post
66 Ply Satellite with 273 engine swap to 69 340 4spd
70 340 4spd Dart Swinger "Those were the days my friend"
73 Charger SE
Had a few Vetts on the way 69, 85
Several Neons some flips
01 Sebring flip
Cruiser's 01, 220K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 03 133K Gone to a new home
Cruiser 06 110K Project Gone to new Home
Cruiser 05 Ltd 120,809 bought with broken belt Oct2015
May 16 Resurrected to once again roam the streets.

20 Miles South Of Pittsburgh
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26 Apr 2016, 07:09 am
Handy_Cruiser's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 10,435
Default Re: Ecu

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeX View Post
Reason for dumb questions is : Is Cubx trying to use a Turbo ECM in a non Turbo

Turbos have special ECMs I believe.
All GT's are turbos. For several years (mostly 2004 thru 2008) both Limited Editions and Touring Editions had an optional turbo engine. These were unofficially called "Turbo Lites". The engines of the Turbo Lites are almost identical (with year to year variations) to the GT. The difference is that the ECM in the Turbo Lite is tuned to run on 87 Octane fuel. While the GT ECM is tuned to run on premium fuel. Though the reported horsepower ratings vary from year to year, the Turbo Lite is has around 180 hp. And the GT is around 220 hp. As you can see, just the tuning of the ECM makes a substantial difference.

Beyond needing to flash the correct VIN number, there are potential issues with using a GT ECM in a Turbo Lite. These may include the differences in the automatic transmission shifters, shifter indicator in the instrument cluster, and ABS. I've been prepping for this one myself since I've been looking at several convertible Turbo Lites as possible future projects. And I already have everything needed including the GT ECM, Autoshifter, GT instrument cluster and associated wiring harnesses. My plan is to run a custom DiabloSport tune on top of this, But to date, I don't know of anyone that just flashed a Turbo Lite VIN onto a GT ECU and then installed it worry-free without having to make other modifications.

An easy and better way to upgrade the ECM in a Turbo Lite is likely going to be to get a performance-tuned ECM for the Turbo Lite. For the 1st Gen 2004/2005 Turbo Lite there are Stage 1 ECM'S that will work with them and Sykes ECM Tuning also offers some. Additionally, Sykes has a handheld tuner that is reported to load a custom performance tune onto the original ECM in a Turbo Lite. The DiabloSport and other popular handheld tuners offer performance tuning for the PT GT but not the original ECM in the Turbo Lite. A GT, Stage 1 or custom ECM is needed for that. I'm not sure what if anything is available for the later 2nd Gen 2006 and up Turbo Lites.
JoeX and myckee like this.
__________________

Last edited by Handy_Cruiser; 26 Apr 2016 at 09:40 am.
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 am.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors