Advertisements
An even easier Fix for the PT MFS

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By ptprice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30 Nov 2016, 10:21 am
Dedicated Cruiser

Default An even easier Fix for the PT MFS

Here's my latest fix to resurface the worn part on the MFS that dysfunctions fog light activation when the plastic "thingy" surface wears down.

I'd already run a thread explaining the long term success I'd had with restoring fog light function by resurfacing that part I called the "thingy" with JB Weld PlasticWeld.

A discovered simple short cut during the curing and re-shaping time on this fix at the stage of finishing the surface area.

Even though it'd worked for me, I'm an artist and dedicated to getting it just right no mattre how long it takes.

I realized a secondary coat of the PlasticWeld, that at best is hard to do because of the curing time and it's tendency to flow till cured, should be addressed with an easier way.

Because of the I tried a light cover spray of Krylon clear acrylic. This sped the job up, leaving just as hard a wear surface on the repaired "thing" and didn't need any more micro finishing. Dry and ready to install in ten minutes. Even though installed, I'd wait twenty four hours before trying it out. The test MFS I was working on unfortunately had other anomalies other than just a worn "thingy" (sorry Bubba!) so although the "thingy" was successfully repaired there were other irreparable parts in the MFS the prevented it's reuse.

IMG_1102.jpg
Remove the top plate only to inspect for burn connections, springs, plastic and copper components. It involves removing two screws ( a small Allen wrench will suffice) and carefully pry surrounding clips. Pull plug that leads from the MFS light lever.

IMG_1104.jpg
The "thingy" can be seen from this top view under the long white slide block.

IMG_1106.jpg