Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By JonN
  • 1 Post By JonN

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19 Dec 2016, 03:11 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Have to scrap... advice?

Hi all,

I posted a few months ago about a massive coolant problem (still unresolved) in my 2004 cruiser. Now, the transmission died about a week ago, and the costs are way too hard to justify, especially considering how unreliable the vehicle has been. I think I've been stranded and towed five times in the last four semesters... yikes. It has just over 184,000 miles and (as of August) a new thermostat, battery, alternator, and tie rod/undercarriage work.

It's so difficult to think about just scrapping it, especially because I really can't afford anything else, but I can't keep investing in this vehicle. Do you have any suggestions for selling/ scrapping/ getting the best value out of it? I'm a late-twenties graduate music student, so I really don't have any experience in this department. I'd hate to let it go for nothing (the junkyards here in central Illinois offer between $100-300), but I'm also not sure what really has value.

I appreciate any advice you can give me!
Old 19 Dec 2016, 07:12 am
Fanatic Cruiser

Default Re: Have to scrap... advice?

Near on 200K car... is going to cost. Is going to be a hobby.

Whats the problem with the tranny?
Old 19 Dec 2016, 10:42 am
Veteran Cruiser

when scrap prices are high and you have good components to sell, it can be rewarding . if you can throw the engine on CL for 3-400, the trans for 200, the rims, radio, etc.. strip out the copper wiring, separate out all the aluminum, and then scrap all the metals, battery, starter, and alternator, and converter separately, you do pretty good scrapping a car.