PT Cruiser Forum  
Advertisements
       

Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

 
Like Tree3Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 01:27 pm
Flash619's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kiel, WI USA
Posts: 174
Default Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

I'm looking into finally ordering a transmission after dissembling my PT about two months back. Can I use a turbo transmission in my non turbo PT? Will it still fit and work?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 01:30 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14,206
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

The main transmissions 41TE/A604 (case and most internal hard parts ) are the same, the external electrical parts may be different? There are are some TSB and Technical Service information updates.(about 300 hundred pages worth?) Most are about internal parts but there is a long list of controller updates that came out over the years. There was some electrical parts Technical Service Information as well.
__________________
Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."

Last edited by NitroPT; 17 Apr 2017 at 01:41 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 01:44 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,370
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

Given that the electrical components, Solenoid pack and input/output sensors, are the same on both transmissions, I can't see why they wouldn't interchange.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 01:47 pm
Flash619's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kiel, WI USA
Posts: 174
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
The main transmissions 41TE/A604 (case and most internal hard parts ) are the same, the external electrical parts may be different? There are are some TSB and Technical Service information updates.(about 300 hundred pages worth?) Most are about internal parts but there is a long list of controller updates that came out over the years. There was some electrical parts Technical Service Information as well.

I only ask because it seems a Turbo A/T is a bit less expensive for some reason and more readily available. It would be great if I could use one and have it actually work.
__________________

Last edited by Flash619; 17 Apr 2017 at 01:50 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 01:55 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14,206
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash619 View Post
I only ask because it seems a Turbo A/T is a bit less expensive for some reason and more readily available.
A couple years ago we made the assumption that the swap would be ok. It wasn't however after swapping a few parts (electrical) the transmission finally communicated with the PCM/ECU and everything is fine. After getting all the transmission information that I mentioned I can see why it is not as easy to answer with a absolute YES or NO.
This goes very much under the catagory if members have not done exactly what you are doing than answer are guesses.

I will PM you with someone that may be able to better help you on this subject.
I am not posting it because they are Transmission parts supplier and not really into being a Q&A business.

Keep in mind when asking these type of question on a forum:
Car Repair Advice Forum= at your own risk
__________________
Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 02:00 pm
Flash619's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kiel, WI USA
Posts: 174
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
A couple years ago we made the assumption that the swap would be ok. It wasn't however after swapping a few parts (electrical) the transmission finally communicated with the PCM/ECU and everything is fine. After getting all the transmission information that I mentioned I can see why it is not as easy to answer with a absolute YES or NO.
This goes very much under the catagory if members have not done exactly what you are doing than answer are guesses.

I will PM you with someone that may be able to better help you on this subject.
I am not posting it because they are Transmission parts supplier and not really into being a Q&A business.

Keep in mind when asking these type of question on a forum:
Car Repair Advice Forum= at your own risk
Based on what I've seen in another thread (link below) it looks like the 41TE is used on both Non Turbo models as well as Turbo models for the 03' A/T cruisers. The only difference seems to be auto stick which is part of the transmission control unit.

So if I pull the electronics from the old transmission, and fit them on the new transmission, all should be well? Mechanically they have no differences from what I have seen.

Interchangeable Tranny

Whats the difference in trannys from turbo to non?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 02:06 pm
Senior Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,370
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

The autostick control is actually in the Instrument cluster/BCM, not in the PCM. According to the Chrysler parts catalog, for the 2003 model year, the solenoid pack, input and output speed sensors are the same on both. I do have an automatic in my parts car, but I haven't tried removing it. Are there more sensors on the trans besides those I have mentioned? If so I can check those ones too to see if they are the same.

Some people think that posting partial or cryptic replies implies a deeper knowledge. Perhaps the guy above tried to fit an 01 trans in a later car or vice versa. Who knows.

Last edited by myckee; 17 Apr 2017 at 02:19 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 02:11 pm
Flash619's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kiel, WI USA
Posts: 174
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by myckee View Post
The autostick control is actually in the Instrument cluster/BCM, not in the PCM. According to the Chrysler parts catalog, the solenoid pack, input and output speed sensors are the same on both. I do have an automatic in my parts car, but I haven't tried removing it. Are there more sensors on the trans besides those I have mentioned? If so I can check those ones too to see if they are the same.
As far as I'm aware there is only a input speed sensor, output speed sensor, solenoid pack, and a harness for the control unit... That's all I remember disconnecting on mine.

If they are mechanically the same between turbo/non turbo is there any reason dropping a 41TE from a turbo into a non turbo wouldn't work?

Even more why do most turbo trannys sell for 200+ and non turbo sell for 350+ ? I'm so confused.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 02:12 pm
NitroPT's Avatar
Obsessed Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14,206
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash619 View Post
Mechanically they have no differences from what I have seen.
There were many changes over the years to the internal parts.
This is part of the 300+ pages of update information I mentioned earlier. This does not always reflect in the MOPAR parts cataloging information and many times can only be confirmed with VIN and or the trans plate ID tag.
wingman55 likes this.
__________________
Dalai Lama
"Share you knowledge. It's the best way to achieve immortality."

Last edited by NitroPT; 17 Apr 2017 at 02:15 pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17 Apr 2017, 02:26 pm
Flash619's Avatar
Regular Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kiel, WI USA
Posts: 174
Default Re: Turbo Trans in Non Turbo PT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroPT View Post
There were many changes over the years to the internal parts.
This is part of the 300+ pages of update information I mentioned earlier. This does not always reflect in the MOPAR parts cataloging information and many times can only be confirmed with VIN and or the trans plate ID tag.
But if both parts are from 03' Cruisers wouldn't they have the same set of changes if they're both 41TE?

If they're both 41TE why wouldn't one work with the other?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2004 gt turbo trans issue.. deltas69 General PT Cruiser Discussions 16 01 Feb 2017 10:48 am
Stage ! turbo kit,BRAND NEW,2003,Auto trans Oldhead Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 6 20 Dec 2013 09:49 pm
BRAND NEW,STAGE 1 TURBO KIT.AUTO.TRANS Oldhead Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 0 21 Nov 2013 01:16 pm
05 non turbo manual trans wiring harness BeagleDad Classifieds: Want To Buy 0 26 Aug 2011 04:16 pm
Turbo stuffs Manifold srt4 stage 3 SMT6 Turbo t3t4 50 trims and more bobgt Classifieds: For Sale/Trade 1 10 May 2010 03:29 pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 pm.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors