PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Lumpy Idle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29 May 2017, 10:34 am
Fresh Cruiser

Default Lumpy Idle

Hello all:

I could use a little help here. I am new to PT Cruisers, having just bought an '05 Touring with 39k miles. I"ve studies up here on the site, introduced myself, and done a lot of reading. Here's the issue.

No error codes, but a lumpy idle. I've done all of the basics, thrown a new PCV valve and hose at it, the latter had a crack. Cleaned the throttle body and IAC valve. Pulled the intake manifold and replaced the plugs with OEM Champions. Replaced the plug wires, and even replaced the coil pack. I figured that on a 12 year old car with an unknown service history, it could not hurt.

But my idle is still lumpy. Now, I've also never pulled an intake manifold before, that I recall anyway, and there is unspent gas on the inside and outside of the blue gaskets. It smells of gas (only once the intake manifold is loosened up, not when in place. Is that normal or a sign of too rich mixture?

I'm at about the end of the DIY things I can think of to fix this. The only thing I haven't done that I heard may be the culprit is to change all of the intake and injector gaskets/o rings.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 29 May 2017, 10:49 am
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: Lumpy Idle

Throw a bottle Beeryman B-12 Chemtool in the tank...might be a clogged injector.
Info says 1 can per full tank, but you can add full bottle to 1/2 a tank without any problems. You should notice a difference pretty fast, add another can once you need gas again.

2006 Touring Edition in Cool Vanilla...aka/Ghost
Old 29 May 2017, 11:00 am
Fresh Cruiser

Thanks, I'll try that! Mine's exactly the same as yours. Cool Vanilla with the same wheel covers.

BTW, I tried Chevron Techron early on but no difference. I'll give Berryman's a try.
Old 29 May 2017, 01:44 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by colint View Post
Hello all: