Advertisements
Product to recharge A/C

Like Tree22Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12 Jun 2017, 11:49 am
Senior Cruiser

Default Product to recharge A/C

Hi fellas,

I've been off the forum for a bit, thanks to being busy at my new job (which I love).

The temperature got hot overnight here in Queens. I turned on my ac, it gets cold for about five minutes, then not. I remember, last year, it wasn't quite as cold as the year before,me hen I first bought it. So, I want to recharge it.

My buddy has a gauge and hose setup that attaches to a can of stuff you buy at autozone and the like. He's going to lend it to me. Is there any specific product I need to use on the PT? I've never done this before, so I ant to use the right stuff.

Thanks!
Old 12 Jun 2017, 12:12 pm
Regular Cruiser

Default Re: Product to recharge A/C

Any can of r134a refrigerant should work. However, being a closed system if your AC has lost its coolness there could be a leak somewhere and/or other problems in your AC system, so there really isn't a definite guarantee that recharging will truly work for you. Have you gotten a timing belt change recently? Usually they discharge the AC to make the job easier.
Gkon likes this.

Sound System
Pioneer DEH-64BT head unit, Zapco Z400-C4SL competition amplifier, 2 10" MTX subwoofers, Rockford Fosgate P1T-S Tweets, Rockford Fosgate 6x8"s , Rockford Fosgate 6.5"'s, AudioControl 24XS crossover

Old 12 Jun 2017, 12:15 pm
Regular Cruiser

If a small leak is present it should last you quite some time though. My girlfriend's old pontiac did that and every recharge would last about a year.
Gkon likes this.

Sound System
Pioneer DEH-64BT head unit, Zapco Z400-C4SL competition amplifier, 2 10" MTX subwoofers, Rockford Fosgate P1T-S Tweets, Rockford Fosgate 6x8"s , Rockford Fosgate 6.5"'s, AudioControl 24XS crossover

Old 12 Jun 2017, 12:15 pm
Senior Cruiser