Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Multi-function switch... but not...

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11 Oct 2017, 03:42 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Angry Multi-function switch... but not...

This is my first time posting. I'll post later on in the introductions area, but right now I am having a major issue.

2008 PT Cruiser, base model (VIN B), no fog lights.

My headlights, turn signals, and wiper controls are all dead. It started intermittently - sometimes they'd work, then nothing - but when the malfunction happens, whatever was "on" remains "on". Drove home with left signal and high-beams on for the last mile or two.

I've read all over here and everywhere else I've looked that I need to replace the Multi-Function switch. I purchased one at AutoZone (Duralast) and it worked. For a day.

This morning, I got in the car and no wipers (it had rained overnight). I borrowed a car, and figured I'd go to another local AutoZone that had it in stock, and just claim it was DOA. They swapped it out no problem. However, I'm sure you can tell since I am here, that did not work either. Nor does my original one, not even intermittently.

SO... given the way this control stick is designed, it seems to behave much like a USB game controller (for lack of a better analogy). Only 4 wires connect it to the car (a hand full of yellow wires connect the wiper stick as well). One is definitely ground and one is +12V, the other two I assume signal wires that tell the computer what switch you activate, and the computer makes it happen.

All that said, I took apart much of the dash, followed the wires as far as I could (almost to the firewall) and tested the wires with a DMM for continuity, while flexing/bending/twisting them to rule out an intermittent frayed or broken wire. So at least inside the car, and where it flexes with the tilt steering, is all fine for all 4 wires.