PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Just Purchased My First Car 2006 PT Cruiser

Like Tree14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25 Oct 2017, 02:28 pm
Fanatic Cruiser

Default Just Purchased My First Car 2006 PT Cruiser

Hi new member to the forum, I am 17 and have just purchased my first car a 2006 PT Cruiser with 160k KM with a broken timing belt for $250.

Got the car towed to my shop through CAA.

Previous owner was honest, Just bought new car, No one wants a PT cruiser with a dead timing belt, Older gentlemen did most work himself, Have service records. No rust, stored indoors. Just wanted someone to use it. he was going to send it to the wrecker if no one picked it up by Today.

I know the timing belt is a royal pain in the ass, I'm not a mechanic I would like to be and have all the tools to fix it, I have watched 6 hours of youtube videos on how to do to it. My grandfather is a master mechanic and has a 2002 PT cruiser. We hope to get it on the road soon!

I bought the belt, and waterpump. Awaiting arrival from shipping. Anything else I should do while I'm deep inside this car?

Best way to remove AC freon? I don't the proper tool to drain it like a dealer would.

Any other general upgrades or updates I should do to this car?

Within the last 20k it has had:
New alternator
New Bushing
New Brrakes
New AC Compressor
New Sparkplugs+wires
New Headlight housing
Rebuild Transmission

Any other common issues with this car that I should replace?

Any upgrades to consider? Its the 2.4L Non Turbo Model.

Tires are certifiable in Ontario, However I will be buying new ones for winter.

Thanks for the replys guys, hope to be semi active

Someone might post that, that a PT cruiser is not a good economy or first car, I know its bad on gas, I know its heavy.