PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
rocker rust

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27 Feb 2018, 07:37 am
Fanatic Cruiser

Default rocker rust

The LH rocker panel on my 10 yr old PT is rusting out. The rust starts at about the middle of the driver's door and extends nearly to the rear wheel well. Oddly enough, the passenger side rocker seems quite solid. Anyone else experience this or can guess why?
Old 27 Feb 2018, 08:36 am
Cool Cruiser

Default Re: rocker rust

My PT has driver's side rocker rust right under the passgener door. I've cut out all the rusted metal and patched the hole with sheet metal and primed and painted it. When I cut the rust out the rocker was full and full of sand somehow.

Given that I'm not a pro body guy the job isn't pretty, but it does the job and has held up for years. It's good enough of a job to pass state inspection every year, which is all I'm personally looking for. I wasn't looking to spend and arm and leg to have new rockers welded in.
Vision Cross 16x7 Rims, 205/55/16 , Painted Calipers, Spoiler, CAI, Pioneer DEH-64BT head unit, NEW Skar SKv2 200.4 amplifier 2 RF P2D2 12's, RF P1T-S Tweets, RF PPS4-6 Mids, RF 6x8"s, AudioControl 24XS crossover/line driver

Newest Car
2016 Jeep Patriot Sport 2.4L 6 speed auto 86k
Powerstop Z23 evolution front brakes, Pioneer DEH-X9600BT head unit, Bē Rage 1200.6 Amp, 4 JBL GX963 6x9's, 2 Skar VVXv3-12's. 6 Channel AudioControl Matrix Plus Line Driver. Stinger fan. ACR1 Bass knob

#LoudLife

Both powered by Mobil1 oil and K&N filters
Old 27 Feb 2018, 08:37 am
Cool Cruiser

And oddly enough, my passenger side rocker is solid as can be. Not a single trace of rust.
Vision Cross 16x7 Rims, 205/55/16 , Painted Calipers, Spoiler, CAI, Pioneer DEH-64BT head unit, NEW Skar SKv2 200.4 amplifier 2 RF P2D2 12's, RF P1T-S Tweets, RF PPS4-6 Mids, RF 6x8"s, AudioControl 24XS crossover/line driver

Newest Car