PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Air generated in cooling system eventually causing overflow

Like Tree7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20 Mar 2018, 03:11 pm
Fanatic Cruiser

Default Air generated in cooling system eventually causing overflow

I've been chasing a loss of coolant problem for the past 4 months and I think I've narrowed it down to maybe a hotspot in the engine which is causing local boiling.

I'm getting small bubbles up the filler neck when running with the Spill Free Funnel and after a week of driving, eventual fill up and overflow of coolant out of the reservoir.
  • Coolant system pressure check - negative
  • Exhaust in coolant check - negative, liquid stays blue over many tests
  • Flush and reverse flush engine and heater core - done several times, once after a week with 2 cups of Cascade dishwasher powder dissolved in hot water added to tap water in the system.
  • Compression check - ~ 130 +/- a couple psi on each cylinder
  • Bypassed the heater core, no difference

So not likely air leakage from the overflow system (I can put my hand on the filler neck, squeeze the upper radiator hose and suck all the coolant back by squeezing and releasing the upper radiator hose while doing the same with my hand over the filler neck).

Not likely a leak in any other part of the coolant system

Not likely a blown head gasket or warped head

I switched to a 180F thermostat and this week I ran the A/C full time in order to keep the fan running on high speed 100% of the time. This was the best result ever as the coolant level dropped only from the top of the filler neck initially to the bottom of the upper radiator hose after a full week of driving. All of that coolant was sitting in the reservoir. No net loss of coolant.