• 1 Post By rckstein
  • 1 Post By Handy_Cruiser
  • 1 Post By rckstein
  • 3 Post By sanatanadharma

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05 Nov 2018, 01:09 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Where does this go?

I took me forever (I am not a mechanic), but I have replaced the head gasket, head bolts, engine mounts, belts, exhaust manifold, water pump, timing belt, and most gaskets. I was meticulous in saving where bolts/nuts went, etc. Everything has fallen back into place except this one item:

Where does this go?
Old 05 Nov 2018, 02:03 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: Where does this go?

It's a noise suppressor. Here's a diagram showing where it goes.

rckstein likes this.
Old 05 Nov 2018, 05:23 pm
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DPiper View Post
I took me forever (I am not a mechanic), but I have replaced the head gasket, head bolts, engine mounts, belts, exhaust manifold, water pump, timing belt, and most gaskets. I was meticulous in saving where bolts/nuts went, etc. Everything has fallen back into place except this one item:

Where does this go?
If you're not a mechanic and you did all that work and you only have that one item unaccounted for, I would say you did real good

This is what the suppressor looks like in place:

My PT, which is an NA model, does not have the big bracket between the head and throttle body that is shown in the pic provided by Todd.

The pic he provided may be for a Turbo.
Handy_Cruiser likes this.
Old 05 Nov 2018, 06:05 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by rckstein View Post

My PT, which is an NA model, does not have the big bracket between the head and throttle body that is shown in the pic provided by Todd.

The pic he provided may be for a Turbo.

They dropped the bracket in 2003-2004 I think.

2006 Touring Edition in Cool Vanilla...aka/Ghost
Old 05 Nov 2018, 06:34 pm
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by LionPT View Post
They dropped the bracket in 2003-2004 I think.