PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
'08 Horn Problem

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23 Sep 2019, 08:15 pm
Young Cruiser

Default '08 Horn Problem

I have searched the archives back 10 years and found nothing that pertains to the problem I'm having with my '08. The horn inadvertently blows for no reason and only works sometimes when you depress the horn pad. Apparently there is no fuse for the horn and I have searched both here and the internet for the location of the relay with absolutely no luck. Can anyone tell me where the relay is located or how you were able to diagnose this problem with an '08?
Thanks ...
Old 24 Sep 2019, 07:47 am
Obsessed Cruiser

Default Re: '08 Horn Problem

While I'm not a mechanic, I would think you've got a bad connection inside the steering wheel. Be careful to disconnect the battery for at least 30 minutes before messing with it, if you're that inclined. You have an airbag that could deploy if you don't give the capacitor long enough to discharge. Then the clock spring is what I'd be looking at. Here is some information I found by doing a Google search.

1. Check fuse 23 in the TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module). 1. Replace fuse if inoperative.

2. No voltage at horn relay terminals 62 AND 66 and fuse is ok. 2. No voltage, repair TIPM as necessary.

3. Open circuit from terminal 65 of the relay to horn switch x3 circuit. 3. Repair circuit as necessary.

4. Inoperative or damaged horn. 4. Voltage at horn when horn switch is pressed, replace horn.

5. Inoperative horn switch. 5. Replace the horn switch.

Aspire to inspire before you expire.

Last edited by chuzz; 24 Sep 2019 at 07:54 am.
Old 24 Sep 2019, 07:53 am
Obsessed Cruiser

I did a search and found this post from 2010 here on the forum. So, it KIND OF backs up my idea of the clock spring. Proceed with caution.