Go Back   PT Cruiser Forum > General Forums > General PT Cruiser Discussions

PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Transponder Keys

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26 Jul 2004, 07:04 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Default Transponder Keys

I was reading a post from earlier this year (MARCH)and I came across someone saying that if you have transponder keys, your car has some sort of sleep mode to shut the car down if it is started in some other manner other than using the transponder key. People were debating it and I was wondering does anyone here have a positive answer to that. Also, how do you know if you have a transponder key. My cruiser is equipped with the factory alarm (I THINK). I am still a newbie to this, I have only owned my 2001 for about a month now. Thanks for any responses. Randy
Old 26 Jul 2004, 07:17 pm
Cool Cruiser

Randy,

The thick, grey key is usually a clue. DCX vehicles that do not have the Sentry Key system (transponder) usually have thinner black keys. Also, you should have a red, flashing light in your instrument cluster if you have the factory alarm. The light flashes whenever you fully lock the car.

To be honest, I don't think I have ever seen a PT that didn't have the Sentry Key system.

The Sentry Key is an immobilizer. The car can be started by a key that will fit. However, the car will only stay on for a few seconds, then it will shut down. The transponder is needed in order to keep the vehicle running. IF you have the owner's manual, the manual will give you the lowdown on the features.

Scott
Old 26 Jul 2004, 08:48 pm
Fresh Cruiser

Sweet, I have the grey, thicker keys. So does that hold true if someone was to punch the column like thieves do? I mean if no key is used, does this still happen? Thanks for the input. That is an awesome feature, I am surprised I have not heard much about this. I will have to do some manual reading tonight.
Old 26 Jul 2004, 10:10 pm
Regular Cruiser

Send a message via AIM to Konkeler