PT Cruiser Forum

Advertisements
Turbo Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24 Aug 2009, 08:59 pm
Young Cruiser

Default Turbo Question

*total noob question alert*

I recently purchased a used '03 GT 5spd. I read somewhere that turbos need to 'idle down' before you kill the engine, especially after hard driving. What kinda time are we talking for a PT, and how hard do you have to run it to require this?

'00 Jeep Wrangler Sport: 2" BDS lift and swaybar disconnects, 32" BFG a/t's on Eagle 10-hole wheels. Fabtech front bumper, K&N cold air intake.

'03 PT Cruiser GT 5spd: removed muffler and airbox silencer future planned mods are K&N typhoon intake, 2" rear lowering springs, hopefully some kind of old skool mag style wheels, and possibly at least a stage 1 turbo upgrade. Oh and i GOTTA get rid of those $#@!'in flame decals!
Old 24 Aug 2009, 09:15 pm
Veteran Cruiser

Default Re: Turbo Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by grungerockjeeper View Post
*total noob question alert*

I recently purchased a used '03 GT 5spd. I read somewhere that turbos need to 'idle down' before you kill the engine, especially after hard driving. What kinda time are we talking for a PT, and how hard do you have to run it to require this?
Running it hard, freeway driving or towing you need to keep it running and cool it down a few minutes. The manual specifies the exact time needed. Normal driving needs no cool down. After hard driving and then going to normal driving for a few minutes or longer constitutes cooling down time.

\'04 Graphite PT Automatic
Old 24 Aug 2009, 09:56 pm
Obsessed Cruiser

When I've run mine hard, which is quite often, I get off a the exit 2 miles from my house instead of the one down the street, then I baby it home.